Release Parties @ TRS

Home » Party posts » ***Vampire King of New York: It’s the Dance! Be sure to enter the Contest!

***Vampire King of New York: It’s the Dance! Be sure to enter the Contest!

In this scene from Vampire King of New York, the two lovers are entranced at first sight. Evelyn finds out more about vampires and Max asks her to dance.

*

“Hmm. I was made a vampire when I was twenty-eight years of age, and I have lived now for one thousand and seventy-eight years. That would make me. . .”VampyreKingOfNewYork_higres (2)

“One thousand, one hundred and four.” Evelyn couldn’t help that her mouth dropped open at the realization.

“Is there a problem?”

“No.” She was baffled by the amused look on his face.

“Am I too old?”

She laughed. “No.” Evelyn blushed. “I wouldn’t know in vampire terms. I guess age might show in behavior, and I don’t know you well enough to tell from that.”

“You mean my behavior?”

“Oh, God, I’m just a mess with words right now.” Her hands covered her cheeks burning brighter.

“I always say that when words are a mess, dance instead.” He stood and held out his hand. She hadn’t even realized that the band was playing. How could she have missed seeing them coming in and setting up on the small stage?

She took his hand, and he led her onto the dance floor. The song was slow. Funny how she didn’t even notice what was playing only how tall Max was, and how he seemed to enfold her into his arms as they glided between the partners.

“You dance very well,” she said.

“I’ve had lots of practice. At least a thousand years.” He smiled, and she wondered if he ever had a beard. A golden beard would suit him very well, besides she was partial to beards.

“Now you’re teasing me.”

They both laughed.

She felt comfortable leaning against him, and he must have sensed it as he held her closer as they swayed to the music.

“Max, I don’t mean to be rude to you.”

“I know that. It’s only human for you to be curious. I don’t mind your questions at all. Ask me anything.”

She gazed up into the most remarkable pale blue-gray eyes. “What were you when you were a human?”

“I was a Viking raider, the captain of a long boat.”

“Do you still remember it?”

“Yes, fondly. My life as a Viking was very happy.”

“All the plundering and pillaging, huh?” Of course, she was breaching some vampire etiquette again, but she didn’t care.

Max only laughed and continued. “Actually it was my family that made me happy. I lost them when I became a vampire.” In that one instant, his eyes had changed as if seeing into the past. The expression on his face was beyond pain, and Evelyn regretted having brought the subject up.

“I’m very sorry.”

“You have nothing to apologize for, Evelyn. Sometimes in order to have great joy, one has to survive great pain. In other times, we don’t fully realize the joy we have until we lose it. It was a life well lived and filled with love.”

The band music ended, but the music in her heart had just begun. Max ignited something deep within her. His presence, his touch, his gaze held her spellbound.
*

If you can’t wait to read it, Vampire King of New York is available in Amazon Print and Kindle, Barnes and Noble Print and Nook, and Kobo.

***I’m doing a special contest. One lucky commenter will win an ebook of Vampire King of New York in their choice of Kindle, Nook, or Kobo.

All you have to do to be eligible is to write “I love Max” in the comment box with your name and email.  If I do ten posts and you put “I love Max” in my ten comment boxes, then your name goes in the hat ten times.  There can only be one winner and they will be randomly drawn on Nov.1st and posted in my last comment box.  Good luck to everyone and this contest is void where prohibited by law.

-Susan
Susan Hanniford Crowley
http://www.susanhannifordcrowley.com


2 Comments

  1. Romance Reader Enthusiast says:

    I love Max ❤

    Lynn
    lareynolds0316@gmail.com

  2. Veronique C. says:

    Love excerpt.

Leave a Reply

