Release Parties @ TRS

Home » Party posts » CONTEST – Garden Gossip and Recipes!

CONTEST – Garden Gossip and Recipes!

garden veggies for salsaMost of you are probably not aware of this, unless you follow my Facebook page, but I planted my very first vegetable garden this year. I could give you all sorts of excuses and explanations, but basically, let me just say that I suck at growing edible things. In fact, this year I’ve sucked at growing pretty much everything. LOL  I knew this first year would be a learning experience and I plan to do better next year.

But my daughter’s in her third year and she’s actually getting pretty good at growing stuff. So good, in fact that she came over the other day with 6 giant zucchini…no, I mean GIANT! These suckers were 18 inches long and probably five inches in diameter. BIG zucchini. LOL  There was really nothing to do with them except shred them. So I did. I now have a freezer full of shredded zucchini, a goldmine for Winter consumption. It makes great zucchini bread and Megan (my daughter) sent me a recipe for zucchini brownies she said were to die for! I’m posting that recipe here for you!

So, for this contest I’d like to do something a bit different. For the chance to win a $10 Amazon or Barnes & Noble gift card, COMMENT TO THIS POST and give me some unique ideas for how I can use my shredded zucchini.  I’ll pick a winner at the end of this event.

Good luck Everybody!

The Best Zucchini Brownies – taken from: http://www.laurenslatest.com/the-best-zucchini-brownies/

yield: 18 BROWNIES
prep time: 15 MINUTES
cook time: 15 MINUTES
total time: 30 MINUTES

 

INGREDIENTS:

1/2 cup light tasting olive oil {or canola oil}
1/2 cup dark chocolate chips
2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
1 cup granulated sugar
1 egg + 1 egg yolk
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup grated, rung out zucchini
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup all purpose flour

for the glaze–
1/4 cup butter
2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 cup dark chocolate chips
2 tablespoons milk
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

 

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line 9 1/2″x13″ baking pan {1/4 sheet pan size} with parchment paper, lightly spray with nonstick cooking spray and set aside.

In medium saucepan, melt oil, chocolate chips, and cocoa together over medium low heat. Remove from heat and stir in sugar, eggs, vanilla and zucchini. Stir in dry ingredients, then pour into prepared pan. Spread out evenly and bake 15-20 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean when inserted in the middle. {A few moist crumbs is fine.}

While brownies are baking, melt butter, cocoa powder, chocolate chips and milk together and simmer gently 1 minute. Remove from heat, then whisk in vanilla and powdered sugar.

Once brownies are pulled from the oven, pour hot frosting over bars immediately. Spread to smooth, if needed. Cool 5-10 minutes before cutting into pieces and serving.


11 Comments

  1. Colleen C. says:

    Gee the only thing I know what to do with Zucchini is fried zucchini or zucchini bread… I wonder if there is a zucchini parm recipe… sounds kinda yummy.

    • samcheever says:

      That would actually be a good idea with zucchinis that are this big. LOL Like eggplant parm. Hmmm. It’s an idea. Thanks, Colleen! Sam Avatar Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Blog | About.Me | Amazon Author Page USA TODAY Best Selling Author Sam Cheever Magic, Adventure, Love on the Run http://www.SamCheever.com “Ms. Cheever writes with class, humor and lots of fun while weaving an excellent story.” The Romance Studio

  2. the zucchini brownies sound good–I got some zucchini earlier in the summer from someone at work. I make a zucchini casserole with bread crumbs, egg, a little sugar and cinnamon and sometimes cheese. I also use it in stir fries.

    • samcheever says:

      I like the casserole idea, Nancy. I’ll have to try that! Sam Avatar Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Blog | About.Me | Amazon Author Page USA TODAY Best Selling Author Sam Cheever Magic, Adventure, Love on the Run http://www.SamCheever.com “Ms. Cheever writes with class, humor and lots of fun while weaving an excellent story.” The Romance Studio

  3. Lola Karns says:

    Not a shredded zucchini idea but we make a lot of “posh squash” – you layer slices of squash with tomato, onion, cheese and squash/zucchini on top. Cover with breadcrumbs and a bit of butter. Bake in a 350 oven for 20 min or until soft. I love the brownie idea.

    • samcheever says:

      Lola, that sounds really good. I’m gonna steal…erm…request a whole zucchini from the spawn and try it! Thanks! Sam Avatar Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Blog | About.Me | Amazon Author Page USA TODAY Best Selling Author Sam Cheever Magic, Adventure, Love on the Run http://www.SamCheever.com “Ms. Cheever writes with class, humor and lots of fun while weaving an excellent story.” The Romance Studio

  4. angieia says:

    Could you put some in a salsa since it is shredded. Zucchini bread is always so good! The zucchini brownies sound awesome!

    • samcheever says:

      Angieia, I think it’s probably too mushy for salsa but it might work. I’ll have to think on that. Thanks for the idea! Sam Avatar Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Blog | About.Me | Amazon Author Page USA TODAY Best Selling Author Sam Cheever Magic, Adventure, Love on the Run http://www.SamCheever.com “Ms. Cheever writes with class, humor and lots of fun while weaving an excellent story.” The Romance Studio

  5. Trix says:

    I’ve always loved zucchini patties best (there’s a good-sounding recipe in Bon Appetit this month). The new Jeni’s Ice Cream Desserts book has a recipe for Lady Cake made with zucchini, which you can then use in a parmesan ice cream (sounds odd, but then some of her more savory flavors have surprised me before). Oh, and ratatouille, but heavier on the zucchini than the eggplant…

    • samcheever says:

      All GREAT suggestions, Trix. Thanks! Sam Avatar Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Blog | About.Me | Amazon Author Page USA TODAY Best Selling Author Sam Cheever Magic, Adventure, Love on the Run http://www.SamCheever.com “Ms. Cheever writes with class, humor and lots of fun while weaving an excellent story.” The Romance Studio

  6. samcheever says:

    Congratulations to Trix for her wonderful suggestions on what to do with my zucchini. I’ve already tried the patties and they were yummy! Trix, if you’ll contact me with your GC store preference I’ll get that right out to you! Thanks for playing everybody!

Leave a Reply

